Go Away, you Twitter Stalker

Leave a comment

July 15, 2012 by msashtonwriter

You can bet I love my social media, but it saddens me to see adults acting like children.

Simon Says to Follow

After the latest incident with a would-be follower, I felt it was time to vent my frustrations.

I do not believe in auto follow. What I do believe in is following someone that has the same interests as me. I’m also a big believer in supporting fellow writers and bonding with my readers. However, if you follow me, un-follow me, and then follow me again accompanied by a DM asking me to follow you back, it gets to be annoying.

Not to mention it is rude, especially if someone swears at you for not following them back the first time around. Yes, that has happened to me twice and I have had to hit the block button.

Don’t get me wrong, I am grateful when I get new followers and try to show my appreciation when my schedule allows it.

Here are three things that I do to help me make my decision:

1. Read over the profile.

2. Scroll through the tweets.

3. Visit the website or blog.

No matter what my decision may be, I make an attempt to thank them individually or tweet a general thank you with a mention.

My point here is that it is still common courtesy to be respectful in the cyber world just as if you were meeting someone in person.

Please be nice and have fun social networking.

Have you been in a similar situation? What are some suggestions for handling an issue like this?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Old Files

