A Writing Career is a Marathon, Not a Sprint

1

May 22, 2012 by msashtonwriter

DSCF0792When I asked my writing mentor if a writer should ever consider scrapping their manuscript, she replied, “A writing career is a marathon, not a sprint.”

Now, if you have on your positive thinking hat while reading this post, you know that there are various ways to make a manuscript better.

Your first draft is not your best writing. Think of it as the skeleton of your novel.

She also has encouraged me to rewrite one project while working on the next one. Ami said, “The two processes are quite different – one is all about nuts and bolts craft application; the other is free and creative. During your editing of Project A, you may discover something that will improve your writing during the creative phase of Project B.”

A writer should have a plan and that plan should be to write, write, and write. This is something that I learned a while ago, but didn’t understand it until now. I have seven manuscripts/outlines that are filed away for me to rewrite or revisit in the future.

Being a prolific writer has its benefits, but it also requires discipline. And thanks to my mentor, I’m able to keep my focus.

I want to take this time to introduce my writing coach, Ami Hendrickson. She is known as @MuseInks on twitter and her blog is filled with good information.

Thank you, Ami, for all that you do.

Other related posts:

Choosing a Writing Mentor

Things to Help Build Your Career: A Writer’s Checklist (1/2)

Guest Blogger Ami Hendrickson: I’m Not Famous. I’m Working.

One thought on “A Writing Career is a Marathon, Not a Sprint

  1. Thanks for the introduction, Marguerite. It’s a pleasure working with you. I always worry when I hear writers say they want to scrap a project. As far as I am concerned, a project has merit as long as the writer remains passionate about it. That passion is what keeps the writer sane and focused through the often painful rewriting and revision process. While the passion survives, the project has a pulse. Once the passion dies, the lifeblood of the project in question just drains away.

    I am honored to work with you on your book. Your passion fuels the process. Keep on keeping on.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Old Files

