Camp NaNoWriMo

1

May 2, 2012 by msashtonwriter

DSCF0813Has anyone heard of Camp NaNoWriMo? It is similar to the write-a-thon, NaNoWriMo held in November. What is the difference? It starts on June 1st and there is another one in August. Your writing goal is 50,000 words and you get to write your novel of choice starting from scratch.

I participated in NaNoWriMo on November 1, 2011, and was unable to finish. However, I managed to write roughly 26,000 words before my other writing project took over. In the end, I shook my head after realizing I was half-way to my goal.

Although, I was disappointed, I have no complaints and enjoyed those first two weeks of literary abandon. I recommend it to anyone who loves to write. It lets you be creative without worry.

I laugh as I write this, because it took me four days to stop that worry. I kept going back and editing, which slowed me down.

If you have not done it already, you may want to consider trying at least once. Not to mention, it’s a way to hammer out three novels in a year. At least 50,000 words of it.

So, here I go again. I’m excited and look forward to midnight on June 1st.

Have you participated in NaNoWriMo? If so, please tell us about your experience.

One thought on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. […] Here is a recent post about my November 2011 experience: Camp National Novel Writing Month […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Old Files

