Dear Blog – Goodbye Thomas

Leave a comment

March 11, 2012 by msashtonwriter

 

Photo by Jazmen Kuhnke

Photo by Jazmen Kuhnke

Today we lost a family pet. The bird I bought my husband for Christmas in 2011 died. We are not sure what happened, but parakeets are known to have a long life span.

I noticed earlier today that he was sitting down at the bottom of the cage. I mentioned this to my husband later on. When my husband went to check on him, Thomas died in his hands. It was a sad moment for my husband; it was also a sad time for me.

I had become accustomed to hearing his singing throughout the house, especially when I would write. His chirps and whistles were music to my ears. It was sweet enough to put a smile on my face, even when I was having a bad day. I treasured that bonding time with Thomas, and it reminds me how short life is.

Another thing I remember of him was he always seemed to know when it was naptime. I think he felt: now would be the best time for me to exercise my vocals and tweet a lot louder since the others are trying to sleep.

So it is with a heavy heart that I say goodbye to my blue-feathered friend. You were with us for only a few months. I understand that there will be no more mornings of saying, “Hello, pretty bird,” or pretending that I can whistle your tune and keep up.

You will be missed.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Old Files

