Guest Post with True Crime Writer and Investigator, Ken Lang (1/2)

1

March 2, 2012 by msashtonwriter

Me? An Author? 

It has become a frequent question from my law enforcement colleagues, “Ken, when did you start writing books?”

I must honestly say that it was never an ambition of mine to turn my life into a series of books after reaching the pinnacle of my career. In fact, nothing is farther from the truth; and while we are on the subject, let me express a few truths that I have learned through the process of becoming an author.

I must admit that being a rather creative individual, I have never found English, math, and science to be my “cup of tea.” My area of expertise usually seemed to relate to the art studio or the band room. Music and art were my game, and I loved the game.

In turn, this created a problem for my teachers. They did not quite know what to do with me. I struggled to solve algebraic expressions, wrap my mind around scientific compounds, and understand the purpose of diagramming a sentence. If I could not convey a message through words, how was a diagram supposed to help? Nevertheless, I toiled through the assignments, eventually graduating from high school and moving on with my life. 

It’s funny how life takes you on a series of twists and turns, bringing you to a point that you could never have fathomed.

Not having parents who were ambitious about sending me to college, I joined the work force and learned how mundane life’s routines could be. I started in a department store, and then worked my way into a contractor’s position at Aberdeen Proving Grounds Army base. Afterwards, I finally chased my ambitions in becoming a police officer.

It was one of those childhood dreams we have all dreamed. You have probably heard it, and perhaps even said it yourself: “I wanna be a doctor; I wanna be a fire fighter; I wanna be a policeman.” Yet life throws that curve and you are not where you expected to be.

Deciding to chase my childhood dream, I completed an application for a local agency. In time, I was hired and found myself in the police academy—the beginning of the windup curve ball that life was about to pitch to me. After serving several years with that agency, I sought broader horizons and applied to a larger nearby agency. I was soon patrolling the streets in a new and bigger jurisdiction. One thing led to another and I soon realized how much I enjoyed the thrill of solving criminal puzzles. A simple burglary, a theft scheme, and other mischievous acts soon had my appetite craving to become a detective. In 1995, I was transferred to the precinct detective squad and then to the Criminal Investigation Division in headquarters two years later.

 

Recently named a winner in the 2011 “50 Great Authors You Should Be Reading,” Ken Lang is a 22 year law enforcement veteran from the State of Maryland who is now an accomplished author. He has served the last 15 years as a detective in the Criminal Investigation Division (CID) Section where Sex Crimes, Robbery, and Homicide investigations have become his forte. A decorated officer, Ken has been awarded the William J. Simms Memorial Award, was named 1997 Officer of the Year by the Optimist Club, has been issued three unit citations, a Chief’s Award, and was the recipient of 14 letters of appreciation for outstanding service as recognized by distinguished members of government and civilians alike.

For more information about his books, please visit his website http://kenlang.weebly.com/index.html 

For his interview with Criminal Lines, please visit  Between the Chalk Lines: Forensically Speaking 

One thought on “Guest Post with True Crime Writer and Investigator, Ken Lang (1/2)

  1. […] Guest Post with True Crime Writer and Investigator, Ken Lang, Part 1 […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Old Files

