Choosing a Writing Mentor

1

February 7, 2012 by msashtonwriter

Taking that extra step and seeking out a mentor has been one of the most appreciated learning experiences that I have encountered. Not only does she provide guidance, but she incorporates my needs on what I want to work on for our sessions.

Most importantly, she listens to what I have to say and then she turns around and tells me what it needs to be. With that, the focus she provides for me elevates my willingness to listen and learn. I am actually looking forward to the rewrites, and I am thriving on the energy to recreate.

I will confess it was not easy finding one. However, what amazed me was that my soon-to-be mentor was right there in front of me and I had no idea. I met her through networking and realized that she was the one that I wanted to work with.

I felt more at ease in my decision to seek her out after I sent her a nervous email and she responded.

Have you thought of getting a mentor?

One thought on “Choosing a Writing Mentor

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Old Files

