Cybercasing

5

February 1, 2012 by msashtonwriter

I came across an article today about privacy and safety that sent my paranoia up a notch. Wait, it’s not paranoia, it’s reality. As a writer in this day in age social networks can be our best friend. For all of us in general, however, it can be dangerous as well.

The article brought “cybercasing” to my attention. For instance, if you take a picture with a certain type of phone or camera and upload it to you favorite social network, you have just revealed the precise location of that photo. It’s called “geo-tagging,” and it consists of latitude and longitude coordinates.

Don’t get me wrong, there are pro’s to this as well, and I’m grateful for the new developments in technology today. However, it’s important that you be extremely careful about what you post for the safety of you and your family.

Is it necessary to confess that you will be leaving your home, or that you are at the store? I did that one time, and I will never do it again. My mom chastised me for “telling my business.” The next day I heard about privacy concerns that were surfacing, and it listed the dos and don’ts for revealing information on the internet.

So the next time you want to post photos, change your relationship status, or inform the world that you will be going on vacation, please remember that you are being watched.

Are there any other concerns that I missed?

5 thoughts on “Cybercasing

  1. Neva Renee says:

    All I have to say is thank you for letting us know this! It is creepy how much information a simple picture can give away. I debated for a few days whether or not to change my facebook profile picture. I have seen a few friends post when they were leaving and for how long. The internet is becoming a scary place, because EVERYTHING is now becoming public information. We can see who is dating who, verbal fights between people, and pictures of people doing illegal things. (Those are a few concerns that I have about the internet).

    • Hello Neva,
      You’re welcome. Things have changed so much over the years and we need to work at being careful when it comes to our privacy.

      • Neva Renee says:

        Most definitely. There is a difference between communicating and being social on the internet and selling privacy. One of my high school teachers refuses to get a facebook. He said that he was not going to sell himself and lose his identity. Very scary thought.

      • Did you realize that your information/profile remains stored on a site, even after its “deleted”

  2. Neva Renee says:

    Of course. That’s how free networking sites make money. By signing up you’re giving them permission to sell your info so they can make money so that the site stays free. You sell your identity to them and then all your images, posts, etc. belong to the website. So even after you delete your profile, they can still keep everything because it technically belongs to them now. That is why my teacher said that he was going to sell his identity to facebook.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Old Files

